Back to ‘home’ school

We started back to school on Monday and I have to say by about 10:30 a.m. I was having my doubts about our curriculum, my plan to have my oldest work more independently, and honestly….my sanity! However, we overcame.

In homeschooling it really helps if you make sure you have all of the needed supplies on hand before starting. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Somehow, our electric pencil sharpener was misplaced during our move and we’ve yet to replace it….I’m still holding onto hopes of finding it, I guess. Anyway, by Monday morning I had still not even bought any tiny, manual sharpeners and the kids were all complaining about the pencils. My kids complaining=FRUSTRATION for me….a nasty, perfectionist issue on my part. All I can say is, I’m working on it. The problem with that is that no one would guess that I struggle with being a perfectionist by looking at my home or how my kids dress….we are often right in the middle of a pile of laundry, clothing all over the floor or bed (clean ones at least!), books and papers strewn all over every flat surface, kids wearing mis-matched socks and shirts that don’t coordinate with their shorts (GASP!)….but that’s not what I desire. My desire is for a smoothly running day, on time everything and everyone marching to the right (MY) beat. Alas, that is not reality and I struggle with it every day. Pray for me….back to the story. By lunch, I had decided we needed a break…so we went out to Arby’s then I ran into a convenience store for a coke (a vice for me) and they had some tiny sharpeners so I bought those too. When we had returned and eaten our lunch, we were all ready to begin anew and things went much better. And, it has gotten increasingly easier each day. I know we’re only on day three, but I’m feeling good about all of it now. Other people may still think I’m insane to stay home with my kids all day and teach them when I could have them all out of the house at school and focus on me time, but at least I’m not questioning it anymore! I get a little me time, and I’ll have more than I want once they’re all gone, I’m sure. We were completely done by lunch today except a bit of reading I had to do with Logan. All of our days do not go that well, but today did and I’m grateful.

Now we’re relaxing, and I feel good. Not only did we complete school for all three but I was able to get in a workout today AND Emma has napped like she’s supposed to. Yay! Not bragging just feeling very blessed today. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Well, I need to get to my snack before it’s time for her to get up. Until another day….

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me!

