Renewing our minds…

This is the time of year for me when I begin to look ahead….at what I want to accomplish, at curriculum for the coming year, etc. It’s a good thing, because it tends to take me a very long time to adjust to new things and to get prepared and organized. I need to take time to renew my mind, refresh my thinking. But I often wonder is it ‘the grass is greener’ affect or is it because there’s something missing?

Take our home school, for instance. I began homeschooling the kids for various reasons….but the main reason I began considering it was because I felt God was calling me to do so. The verses in Deuteronomy that are at the top of this blog….those are the words He spoke to me, during a time in which my focus was on myself and on teaching others’ kids. Meanwhile my own family was heading in the wrong direction and suffering due to some of my decisions. I’m so glad that He has given me the opportunity to be home with my children, being a vital part of their lives, aware of all that goes into their hearts and minds. However, I still feel I haven’t quite gotten it ‘right’. We need more of His word, even though we’ve been using christian curriculum. I don’t think our focus has been on Him enough in our everyday lives.

So here I am again, researching, trying to figure out just what it is we need in our home and in our home school. If you’ve come across books, habits, methods, etc. that have been pivotal in changing your homes, schooling, teaching, your hearts or the hearts of your children….please comment below. I’d love to see what others have done, pray about whether it could be important for our home. And always, your prayers are coveted.

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me!

