Un-teaching

Is there such a thing? No? Oh, alright! It’s what I need though, to be un-taught all the things I’ve learned that do not help me in life….

  • skepticism
  • cynicism
  • not to trust
  • to fear everything
  • to compare
  • that I don’t measure up (do any of us ever?)
I have packed up the textbooks….they are going back to the warehouse to be placed back on the shelves for someone else to buy. I don’t want them. I was excited about getting them….until they arrived. The lesson planning was going to be easy. I had a plan for grading that was going to work. But, I did not want my kids to read those books and learn that they have to read them so they can answer that all-important question at the end of the chapter. Right now they read because they want to. They LOVE to read….I have to make them stop reading. I never want to see their love for books and learning stop. Call it fear again….maybe it is….but I am pretty sure they would be headed there if I forced them to sit with those textbooks each day, even thought we DO love to use the R&S English. It is not R&S that I have a problem with. It’s more that I don’t see that compartmentalized, fill-in-the-correct-answer type of learning as true learning. In school, I scanned for the correct answer and did not read the rest…..I have had to un-learn that. It’s been hard. Now…..I love history, science is interesting, biographies are great….I even like to diagram sentences and believe me I was NOT good at that in school. I think it is all because I have a different perspective….I have learned some things and un-learned even more things over the years. Learning….education….cannot be put into a box. Or at least it shouldn’t be. It doesn’t fit, because I don’t learn like you….you don’t learn like your best friend. We are all different, and we need to be able to use the best resources for US. Since I am the ‘teacher’ in this school….I vote for NO textbooks, well few anyway. I am actually an UN-teacher. I do not lecture at the front of my classroom. I don’t create a ‘learning experience’ so I can teach skills. We live life and learn in the living. I think that is the absolute best way to do it. Why am I always second-guessing myself? It’s all that learning I still have to do….and the un-learning, there’s lots of that. 
About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Homeschooling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Un-teaching

  1. Mimi says:

    Well, you know that I’m trying to un-teach myself that top list, too 😉 It’s a process, but we WILL get there girlfriend. I didn’t expect the “dumping the textbook” part! Whatever works best for you, and it’s awesome that you figured it out before you got into it all!! I found some great un-text booky resources that might interest you. I’ll email you…..we need to schedule a phone call soon!!!

Talk to me!

