Some cooking, some book work….that’s life

Over the weekend I made two more loaves of wheat bread. Substituting one cup of white for wheat seemed to help a bit. It did rise more….I also skipped the “roll out the dough” instructions from the ‘shaping the loaf’ part of the recipe. I plan to make some loaves again this week and let them rise 30 minutes more in the pan before baking. I think that might get us the size we’re looking for in our bread.

Monday morning I made more blueberry muffins…..a quadruple batch. The ones I mixed up last week did not go very far as they were only doubled and we gave some away. I have 3 batches in the freezer now so they will last about a week, maybe longer.

We finished our reading and assignments for today by 1:45. Now we are relaxing while the little ones take naps….snacks soon. 🙂

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Menu Planning, Food Budget, Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some cooking, some book work….that’s life

  1. susan norris says:

    Try a cup of bread flour instead of the white. Bread flour has more gluten which is what activates the yeast. Wheat flour has very, very little. You can also buy vital wheat gluten. We have it at our walmart. You can add a couple TBS (maybe up to a 1/4 cup) of that and it makes a huge difference. The combo of the bread flour and gluten will give you a terrific texture and nice large loaf.

  2. inhistiming says:

    Thanks, Susan! We just used some bread flour with our tortilla recipe yesterday b/c I was out of plain flour. They were very easy to work with……now I guess I know why. I’ll definitely try using it with my loaves when I get around to making them!

Talk to me!

