He defends my honor and tells me who I am….

Can I just say that ‘following in His footsteps’ is hard? There are just some days when I really struggle to be like Jesus….many days. In my actions, in my decisions, in my thoughts…..I am currently attending a bible study each Wednesday morning. We’re doing a Beth Moore study about David. There’s some great stuff in there. She brought up the point last week about how we need to let God tell us who we are. Not our spouse, not our friends, parents, teachers, etc. He knows what His plans for us are, who He has called us to be. He knows our hearts, what our intentions are, when we’re telling the truth and when we’re not. We like to think that other people know those things or that they should….because they’ve spent so much time with us or they’ve known us for so many years, etc. Often though, they will choose to believe otherwise, to believe something that is going to make them feel better about their own decisions or cause them to get their own way. She also brought up a good question……that if we can’t trust the person, then can we trust God with the person? That’s tough. There are people sometimes that I just don’t understand. I don’t understand what they’re doing or why…..and sometimes what they are doing is hurtful to me. I think (to myself) “they should really know that is hurful. Why would they do that?” Ultimately, I can only control myself….my words, my actions. I am still learning to trust God with those people that hurt me….after all, He is the one with the big picture. He knows why for everything. Hopefully one day I will see it. Until then, I am praying that I can learn to let all those hurts go, give them to Him. Only He tells me who I am. He has blessed me with a wonderful husband, awesome children, loving parents, and many extended family members who love me for who I am. I’m so thankful for that! I’ll leave you with some words of encouragement below.

Some things Beth Moore says, from the David study:

We should pour our hearts out to God every day, so God can fill them up.

The goal of crying out before God is to come to a place of rest, so that we can place our trust in Him.

We are called to trust God, at ALL TIMES, no matter what we are going through.

Some of our biggest conflicts with people will be over personal matters of honor.

And a verse she shared:

Psalm 62:5-8 Yes, my soul, find rest in God; my hope comes from him. Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge. Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to He defends my honor and tells me who I am….

  1. Love Beth Moore! Some profound truths you shared. Love this post.

  2. inhistiming says:

    Yes, she’ wonderful! And I just love her humor since I’m a southern girl, too. 😉 Glad you enjoyed what I had to say.

  3. Mimi says:

    I loved this Wendy! I could totally relate to what you shared. I was just writing a post about being misunderstood. It’s something that really hurts and bothers me. Our pastor’s message was about who we are in Christ’s eyes vs people. It’s a struggle. I’ve learned so much through our move {and being without family & close friends}….and I’m very sure that you have , too. What a beautiful family you have….and you are loved. You are wonderful just being you! xo

    • It is hard to live with an unoffended heart. I have to die daily! Praying for you in this move. I know how hard it is to live away from family and friends. Praying you find rest and peace and God will give you new friends who will nurture your “garden”.

  4. inhistiming says:

    Thanks, Mimi! You always have encouraging words for me. I’m glad I have some friends who understand and have experienced this….and are willing to admit that they’ve experienced this! We can pray for each other. 🙂

Talk to me!

