A rocking boat……who will be your oarsman?

You’ve been in a boat, right? Maybe a canoe, a small fishing boat, a kayak? You’ve experienced that tipping feeling….when someone leans too far to one side…..or if you had a childhood like mine, when the older boys in your youth group found pleasure in sinking your boat?! 😉 You know if it tips, you’re going under and all your stuff with you. You’ll have to swim here and yon gathering up all your things….sunglasses (which you’ll probably have to dive for!), the ice chest will float away, you’ll be all wet (and cold!), the boat will have to be set to rights and the water dipped out. So much extra work you’ll have to do because of it. To me, that’s kind of how life is sometimes. People, events, just ‘stuff’…..it all rocks my boat on occasion…..and it makes me tense up, start preparing for a storm….even if there ends up not being one. When someone or something starts wreaking havoc in my life I tend to begin gathering up all my ‘things’ beforehand, trying to protect myself ya know? I don’t want to dive for my sunglasses, chase the ice chest as it floats away, bail water, or end up shivering because I got all wet. Is anybody understanding this? I want to sail in a sturdy boat that never tips, that cannot be turned over despite what others may do to dump me out. I have learned that some people take pleasure in seeing me flail around while they sit on the shore watching. There are events in life that turn my world upside down, despite my best efforts to be prepared. But there is One in my life that is unfailing, never falters, cannot be removed from my grasp……and that is Jesus. I am learning more and more that I must grab onto Him, His promises, and never let go. No matter what the circumstance, no matter who Satan is using to try to loosen my grip…..I will not let go. I’m holding on tight to my boat and I’m giving Him the oars. He is the only One who can steer me in the right direction. He tells us in His Word, storms will come, but He will see us through those. He is our shelter, our rock, our very present help in times of trouble. I am believing that and looking to Him to show me the way. How ’bout you, who will be your oarsman?

By the way, I am reading a new book, Who’s Rocking the Boat?, written by Mark Balmer. Maybe you should give it a read, too.

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A rocking boat……who will be your oarsman?

  1. Mimi says:

    I’m understanding it!! You have no idea how much I understood it. Thanks for sharing!! It came at
    the perfect time for me to read. Have a great day, my friend!!

Talk to me!

