Food, Fun, and Family

We’ve had a fairly successful morning, school-wise. All the kids have completed their assignments. I just need to check them now for accuracy, thoroughness, etc.

Part of Corbin’s work this morning was to finally get his thank you cards in the mail. His birthday was June 17. I know, I can’t believe I’m actually willing to admit that we have taken so long, but there it is. I figure it’s better to send a thank you note late rather than never. Right? Regardless, some of you will be getting a card and I hope you enjoy the work he put into them. They are not masterpieces or anything, but he did make some effort to make them cute. One plus is that I included a thank you card for Elle’s very first birthday gift with Corbin’s thank you note to one of the people who gave a gift to him…..only 1 day after we received it. That’s probably the quickest turn-around we’ve ever managed! I’m sure the recipient will be quite surprised. 😉 I’m planning to do the same with anything else she receives……do it right then and I won’t procrastinate for three months.

Tonight is our Family Fun Night. I have a roast in the oven and it smells wonderful! Our FFN meal will be Open-Face Brisket Sandwich, chips, and  salad. Tomorrow night we will enjoy more roast with potatoes, carrots, and green beans. It was supposed to be the other way ’round, but I decided FFN needed to be, well…..more fun…..hence, the switch! 😉 We will be enjoying brownies, from a box (easy!), for dessert. The last of the roast leftovers will be used in Quick Spaghetti Bolognese on Sunday. Can you tell I’m trying some new dishes this week? They all look great so I’m hoping they taste just as great or better!

I will head to the store for another week’s worth of groceries Sunday or Monday, so I’ll be back to tell you about my trip then. I want to pick up a paper Sunday as well, so I can start clipping some coupons. I really need to make use of the ones available for the things we buy already. This will help me save more money. I’d like to use the savings to do something special, but I’m not sure what. Any suggestions?

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Family, Homeschooling, Menu Planning, Food Budget, Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me!

