What can I learn from my trials?

Jeremiah 29:11 is my verse for the day…..

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.”

Why is it so hard to remember this? I KNOW this, it is my life verse. I have grasped onto it for years. I really do know it and believe it. But sometimes, in the moment, I forget. I know He is sovereign, in control of all things, and that He will work all things “for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28) I know this. Why do I struggle so with the things that I do not control anyway? It’s that ‘dying to flesh’ daily that is so hard. I cannot do it without Him, and there are so many times that I still try to deal with things, people, events, without Him, without His word. I have been making an effort to read the bible more, and that does help. Yet, still I forget. My emotions often rule me. Desperation, hopelessness, anger…..in certain situations. I cry out to God and these things just don’t seem to have an answer. Does He hear me? Am I wrong? How should I manage the ‘issues’ in my life? How do I do that, practically? Questions we all ask at times, I’m sure, just something I’m struggling with at the moment. I continue to seek answers, and I continue to fail some days with what I have been learning.

I heard the testimony of our pastor’s wife yesterday. She told her story in her husband’s battle against stage 4 colon cancer. One of the things she said she learned in all of it, in crying out to Him for answers, was to ask “What? What do you want me to learn, Lord?” Instead of “Why me, Lord?” I think it is normal to ask why me, why can’t I , why don’t you, etc. when we are going through trials. But if we can learn to ask “What are You trying to teach me through this?” then maybe we will all find more peace. I am working on it. I have to admit, I am so not there yet! I do wonder about what He’s trying to teach me, but it’s amidst the “Why me?” questions. I want to be that person that can be at peace, that is strong in the storms of life…..yet I am so weak. It is only Him that gets me through some of my moments. I am so thankful that I have Him, because what would my life be like with no hope? I have a hope, He’s gives me a future….He plans to prosper me! I am so happy that I can claim that verse as my own, and that there is always hope for tomorrow in Christ Jesus.

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What can I learn from my trials?

  1. I know exactly what you are talking about. A song that I learned when I was child popped in my head one day when I was asking all these questions.
    “Count your blessings, name them one by one, and it will remind you what the Lord has done, Count your blessings, name them one by one, and it will remind you what the Lord has done.”
    There is always so much to be thankful for, sometimes we just choose not to see them. And yes, I too have to believe, that there is always a lesson to be learned. In my trials I learned to grow closer to God.
    http://devotions.proverbs31.org/2011/10/damaged-goods-2.html
    here is a link to a devotion that made me want more trials so that I can be refined. It is painful but necessary
    Good luck to you.

Talk to me!

