A list for you…

  • Elle took her first ‘real’ steps on Christmas Eve…..5 steps from Daddy to Mommy in her room. Emma acted as a witness. 🙂
  • We had a great last few days with a Christmas Eve service, our special Christmas Eve snacks and annual viewing of The Polar Express, and then a late Christmas lunch with Karl’s parents consisting of mashed potatoes and gravy, stuffing, cranberry sauce, green bean casserole, roast turkey, cucumber and tomato salad, rolls, and a cranberry apple pie for dessert.
  • Today is my mama’s birthday. I spoke to her and she was looking forward to seeing her sisters and possibly some nieces. I know she’s had a good time and I appreciate the love and care she’s receiving, even though I cannot be there to lavish it on her myself.
  • My aunt Mildred is in the hospital and has been put on a respirator and a feeding tube, with hopes of removing both later this week (I think). This is the aunt who used to babysit me while my mama worked, before I began school. Actually, I spent many days at her house during the summers too, playing Dukes of Hazzard with my cousin Billy (her grandson). Aunt Mildred always told the best stories, too. 🙂 I have great memories of her, and though I haven’t seen her a whole lot in recent years, she holds a special place in my heart. Prayers for her health are so appreciated.
  • Corbin and Logan lucked out with gifts of musical instruments for Christmas this year. Thanks to a deal found by Uncle Jason, Corbin got an amp and an electric guitar that we only had to pay $50 for. Both traveled (in secret) with us from Alabama to Georgia and back home to Florida during our Thanksgiving trip. No one but we adults ever knew the wiser…..not sure how we managed it but I’m sure glad we did! Logan had asked for drums. We knew we did not have the room or the money to dedicate to a full-blown set of drums for him. However, a set of digital drums was on sale at Target a week or two before Christmas. They’re a hit! He has been practicing A LOT. Karl found a web site that has some lessons, so that helps. The good thing about these is that he can play them even when the babies are napping, not to mention they take up little room, and they are portable! (okay, so 3 good things!)
  • Hailey has been wanting a digital camera, and we did end up finding one (on sale) through Amazon, so she’s happy too. We still need to get her a memory card, but until then she’s amusing herself well enough.
  • Have I mentioned http://www.goodsearch.com? I have used this site almost exclusively while surfing for gifts this season. If you create a (FREE) account, you can name your charity and earn money for them through your searches and/or purchases made. My charity of choice is Place of Hope. I love knowing that I’m helping, even in a very small way. You should try it and raise money for your favorite organization, too.
  • Emma received her first barbie….Belle from Beauty and the Beast…..but I think her most favorite toy has been the punching ball she got in her stocking. It’s the simple things….
  • Elle like the punching balls too, but what she really enjoys is a good book (to chew on) or a chunky puzzle (to chew on!).
  • Karl took his kayak out in the lake today and I think he enjoyed that….took Corbin out with him for a second trip.
  • I received a double jogging stroller that I plan to try out tomorrow morning. Now I can begin my ‘training’ for that 5k for real! I won’t be making it to the one in January though…..no time….but I’ll see what I can find in the spring.
  • Karl and I have a trip coming up the 2nd week of January. Our parents are going to split the time with the kids and let me travel with him. A whole 6 days and nights together will be amazing! I plan to sleep in…..every day. Well, maybe I’ll have breakfast with Karl then hop back in bed. The point is, I’ll be able to decide how I want to do it.
  • I don’t know how much time I’ll have to write between now and the new year. Maybe another post or two. Still so much to get done while Karl is off. I’ll try to get back soon.
About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Baby, Family, Homeschooling, Menu Planning, Food Budget, Cooking, Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me!

