Ending the year with a bang

We’ve been so busy! I’ve barely sat down over the last several days. Karl had his birthday, so I had shopping to do for that. Then I made his cake, which was a from-scratch German Chocolate Cake. Boy, was it good! It took me several hours to complete it, but it was so worth it. And we have leftovers for our dessert tonight!

New year’s Eve shopping had to be done this morning. We went to the local warehouse club and bought some appetizers for tonight…..watching the Auburn game and that’s the kind of eats we always have with football. 😉 We will watch the game, eat some snacks and dessert, play a few Wii and/or Playstation games……maybe watch the ball drop.

I have been cooking a lot as well, preparing for the one-week trip away that’s coming up. I’m making meals and putting them in the freezer, that way our parents only need to grab a meal, heat it up, and serve it. They’ll be able to focus on the kids better that way, I think. Plus, it’s good practice so I can see how much work it is and if bulk cooking will really save me time and money…..there will be a few dishes for us as well. So far I have 5 meals in the freezer, plus a loaf of cranberry bread and 24 cranberry muffins for breakfasts.

We got a lot of cleaning done this week, too. The master bathroom shower, cleaned and organized Corbin’s room, took down all the holiday stuff, cleaned up and de-cluttered the master bedroom, shelved almost all of the books that have been lining our upstairs hallway for months, de-cluttered a bit in the main area of the house, and decided on birthday gifts for the oldest two kids, which are coming up in January.

Elle began walking…..10 steps or more at a time as of today. She’s off, and loving it!

A successful week makes me tired, but so glad we were able to accomplish a lot. I’m looking forward to starting the new year more organized than I began last year!

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Baby, Family, Homeschooling, Menu Planning, Food Budget, Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ending the year with a bang

  1. Mimi says:

    You are so wise to make the meals ahead. You are amazing!

Talk to me!

