Menu for the month (so far)

I’ve been working on meals and placing them in the freezer as I finish for the last three days, just as I’ve had time. I actually started before that, with the loaf of cranberry bread and the 24 cranberry muffins that are in the freezer, for breakfasts. I have 5 meals so far.

  1. Chinese Chicken Morsels/Rice/Spicy Pumpkin Muffins…and a vegetable, yet to be determined
  2. Taco meat, to be served with flour tortillas and carrot sticks
  3. Beef Pot Pie
  4. Chili and Cornbread, to be served with a salad or veggie sticks
  5. Sloppy Joes, served with chips and veggie sticks

I have written instructions on the freezer bags and/or (disposable) casserole dish for how they should be cooked in hopes that it will be very easy for our parents to care for the kids. Obviously, both my mom and mother-in-law have years of cooking experience on me! However, they didn’t have to cook for 5 kids, so I thought I would help out. Karl and I so appreciate their willingness to stay here with the kids while we take a rare trip away together!

I plan to get at least two more meals together before Saturday, possibly more so that I will also benefit from the freezer meals upon our arrival home. I am hoping, too, that cooking this way will allow us to save money at the grocery store. We cut back a lot on our grocery budget last year, and did okay with that. Now, I just want to learn to make the most of the money we have delegated. Cooking ahead and in bulk is part of that ‘experiment’. Another part will be printing/cutting out more coupons….at least the ones for foods we actually use. I started that today, but I still have to peruse the sales, etc. I’ll post more about that once I get a little further with it.

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Menu Planning, Food Budget, Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me!

