Ahead of the pack

Yesterday evening I decided to do an ‘experiment’ with Emma. Occasionally, we have used her little writing board (I don’t actually know what it’s called?) to write a word and then help her ‘read’ it. I have not done that with her in quite some time. While we were playing on the floor yesterday I decided to see if she remembered the words from before. She did! She can read the words cat, dog, and Emma easily. We immediately went outside, where Daddy was playing with the other kids, to show him. He and the other kids were duly impressed with her ability to read. We then introduced at and bat. This morning Logan showed her the words Logan, cup, and cap. She remembered those in the short-term, but we’ll see if she does the next time we practice. I’m proud of her! She’s not even 3 yet.

I could feel myself last night, though, beginning to get all ‘school-ish’ on her. I wanted to start planning for how I’m going to teach her to read, and what words I need to teach her, and then my thoughts turned to math and shapes and….

Wait! What am I doing? She is not even 3 yet! She has learned these things without ‘doing school’ and there is no reason to start now. We have plenty of time for that if we decide to go that route with her. I am not the biggest fan of workbooks, textbooks, tests, and the like, anyway. I really love the learning through living thing we already have going and I would much prefer that she never have to enter the separate ‘school’ world unless and until she chooses to do so. So, I stopped thinking of all the things I need to do with her, put down my markers that I was using to busily write words to teach to her, and decided to just continue to be happy that she can read three words. Wow! 🙂

As my oldest son pointed out this morning, “Well, she’s already ahead of the pack, anyway!” I agree.

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Baby, Family, Homeschooling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ahead of the pack

  1. Stacy says:

    I love the word, “Schoolish.” I am the opposite side of the spectrum. I try to figure out how long I can WAIT to teach something! 😉
    WTG Emma!

  2. inhistiming says:

    Thanks, Stacy. It was just the “wow, she can read three words, and what else can I get her to do?!’ thoughts, ya know. Glad God quickly reminded me she is not yet 3 and there is absolutely no need to push her. She learned all of what she already knows just through living life, so she doesn’t need me pressing her on to do more for my own satisfaction! Good for you for WAITING as long as you can. 🙂

Talk to me!

