Writing, Homeschooling….Overwhelming!

I often spend my afternoons writing, especially now that I am blogging for Kitchen Heaven and doing some work for TOS. Emma no longer naps in her crib but in Hailey’s “big gu-wah” bed, so I sit in Hailey’s room at her desk while Emma naps….well, lies on the bed twirling her hair and being quiet but NOT sleeping, most days!

It’s actually good time, because it has forced me to focus, organize, and get more work done. I’m involved in a big project right now and that is going to take even more time. I will likely need to spend some night-time hours writing, but it is exciting and fun, so the sacrifice will be worth it, I think. Karl is completely supportive of me doing this, too, so that helps enormously! I’m so glad that I have the opportunity to write (which I love to do!) and that I don’t need to leave my home to do the work. God is good, all the time! 

I have to keep calming myself, though, as I realize all the ‘stuff’ that must be done this month. I have deadlines, kids’ activities, appointments, cooking, cleaning, playing with the babies…..and oh yeah, homeschooling! It’s become crazy quite quickly. However, I know that God will help me accomplish all that I have to do. I’m learning to give Him my day, each day, and then reminding myself when that ‘overwhelmed’ feeling pops up that God is always in control. I don’t have to be. I can just do the next thing, and then the next thing….pretty soon it will be finished, and well, if I’ve done my best and sought Him first.

I have been looking over high school curricula, checking out various programs, web sites. I have not made any decisions or ordered anything yet, as we still have several months left. I like to make sure I am aware of what is available and then find out which might suit us best. I still am not sure which way we’ll go. It’s definitely interesting and there’s so much to filter through. If you have any suggestions, please leave them in the comments section! We do prefer to work with materials that are less textbook-ish….

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Homeschooling, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me!

