Review: Time4Learning

Last month I signed up with Time4Learning as a ‘reviewer’. In exchange for allowing my children to use it for a month, I agreed to write a blog post reviewing our experience with the web site.

Overall our experience was positive. With the busy-ness that comes with homeschooling 5 children, I don’t feel that four weeks was enough time to really get a solid feel for how the program works and if it would be something we want to use regularly in our home school. However, that is our personal issue, not one caused by Time4Learning!

I love the fact that no matter which level you choose for your child when signing up, you have the ability within the program to change the level up or down by one grade level. For example, if your child is having difficulty with the math problems within the program for 4th grade, there is a way to change the selection so that it reflects grade 3. The same option is available to those who feel a level is too easy. If your child is working within level 2, you may select level 3 and the problems become slightly more difficult to reflect the level change. I think this is a great way to allow children to work at their own pace. We are not all the same, and I really like that Time4Learning acknowledges this within their program!

I also really like that I can log in as the parent to review my children’s work. The parent page shows which activities have been completed along with a percentage for the score, i.e. 100%, 85%, or 60%, etc. Reports are available daily, weekly, or monthly.

The content of the site seemed fairly challenging within each level as far as I could tell. Again, 4 weeks fly by around here, so it’s hard to know for sure! I do think the content was appropriate, both academically and maturity-wise, for my 8 yo and 12 yo who are in grades 3 and 6, respectively. My son enjoyed the program more than my daughter (who is the older child), but I really think that was mostly because we were doing this in addition to our other school work, rather than as a stand-alone program. She is not a fan of extra work, but who is? 😉

My son did have some difficulty with figuring out how to exit the program. We had a bit of trouble with losing our scores at first. However, once I sat with him the first few times to make sure he did exit properly, things went fine with that. No more lost scores!

I think, overall, I am happy with the program. The characters are engaging, the content is educational, and there is some fun involved both within the learning side as well as on the playground. I would love to have the option of including Christian content within the program. There are other programs that have that choice and they are attractive to me for that reason.

So, if you’re looking for a computer-based program to use within your home school, or even just as a supplement to your child’s regular school work,  check out Time4Learning. You may just find it makes your life easier and your child’s schooling just a bit more fun!

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Time4Learning

  1. Katie says:

    I was looking forward to coming back and seeing what you thought of the program…and I am SO glad that you guys liked it! 🙂 You touched on two of my *most* favorite aspects of T4L; the flexibility with the grade levels, and the reporting. While I may have to keep up with what my boys do outside of T4L (like projects, experiments, field trips, etc), I know that I don’t have to worry at all about the record keeping from their core subjects. It’s great!

    Again, I am glad that you enjoyed your month – even if it did fly by, lol – and I enjoyed reading your review!

    Katie

Talk to me!

