Miracles DO happen

The miraculous has happened in our house!

If any of you know my husband even just a little bit, you know that he does not read. Yes, he reads magazines and online articles, but to sit down and read an actual book? With pages and pages of words? For fun? Not a chance!

Enter the recent Hunger Games craze. (And you have to remember that Karl is not a jump-on-the-bandwagon kind of guy, either.) I resisted for a while, but in January I bought the books because I just had to see what all the hype was about. I stayed up late every night with my iPad until I finished the entire series. I was hooked and could. not. stop reading!

My 14-year-old son wanted to read them. I debated for several months, checking reviews online (and this is after I had already read them!) and asking respected friends’ opinions, because I just wasn’t sure. Ultimately, I decided that he was mature enough to handle the content, so I let him read them. He couldn’t put them down either!

Unbeknownst to me, a week or so ago, Karl loaded the books onto his iPad and read the first chapter. He didn’t tell me until one day he just got up from his chair and said, “Well, I just finished the first chapter of The Hunger Games.” What?!

Fast-forward to a recent out-of-town trip. He read several chapters on the plane and then stayed up until 1 a.m. reading! Wow.

He is loving this, and I am too because, well, this means we may actually begin to have literary conversations. Our lives together have basically existed without this aspect. InsaneI know. I can only imagine the ramifications! I can see us reading Little Women, The Scarlet Letter, whole series’ of christian fiction….oh wait, I’m getting ahead of myself. LOL 😉

Seriously though, it IS exciting to see him finally learning that reading for pleasure, as our whole family does, is not actually crazy but quite enjoyable. And I’m glad to report that this love can be gained at the ripe old age of 37! Congratulations, Karl, on reading your first real book since college.

I am really excited. Can you tell?

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Miracles DO happen

  1. I don’t know what sort of genres your husband might discover he enjoys, but one series of books I can very highly recommend is the Circle Trilogy by Ted Dekker. (The Trilogy actually became a four-book set when he wrote a prequel years later, but I liked the first 3 better by far!). There is action, romance, international intrigue, and more, all wrapped up in one of the most amazing pictures about what Jesus Christ did for us and what He is calling us to keep doing! Sure to offer lots of great conversation topics–and more than a few nights reading until 1:00 a.m. 🙂

    • inhistiming says:

      Yes! I have read LOTS of Ted Dekker’s books and I am pretty sure that my husband would really be drawn in by the Lost Books series, Circle series…..I always get confused about which is what. LOL They were all SO good! Thanks for reminding me of these great options….I was thinking I might re-read these anyway.

Talk to me!

