The backstory to my rejoicing, Part 2

When the day arrived to take Elle for her evaluation, I was a bit nervous, but she had begun saying a couple more words in those five weeks of waiting. We left the other kids with our sitter and headed on over to the office. One of the things I was concerned about, really, was getting the state involved at all. I believe that God has given us the right to raise our children as we see fit and I hesitate to give the government any reason to think they need to intervene. I was afraid that asking for help from them would give them permission to tell me how to run my life! No matter how unfounded, that was one of my concerns. πŸ˜‰ It was unnecessary.

From the time we arrived for the appointment everyone there was so nice. We only had to wait about 5 minutes before we were led to a room, with toys, where we could wait. It was easy. I was given paperwork and Karl helped keep Elle happy. As I was filling out the paperwork two others joined our coordinator. They were the ‘official’ evaluators. Both ladies were very friendly and put me at ease immediately. Part of the paperwork I was filling in was the M-CHAT, a screening tool for identifying autistic traits in toddlers.

After I completed the paperwork, we all moved to a different room that included a child-sized table. The two evaluators sat down at the table with Elle while the rest of us sat behind them, out of Elle’s line of vision. She was very ready to play, which I thought was a good sign.

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Baby, Faith, Family and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The backstory to my rejoicing, Part 2

  1. Stacy says:

    I’m catching up after a busy week.
    I understand the balance between sharing happy and sad. Clearly, I’ve gotten more comfortable sharing the sad this past year, but it still isn’t easy. And I can’t really put my finger on why. I think it does have something to do with our lives being abundantly filled with the GOOD and therefore it makes sense that in our limited blogging time THAT is what comes to the forefront.
    Things like prayer for Elle, however, don’t necessarily equal BAD, or dirty laundry. They are just as real as missions trips, and finding the perfect house. They usually take more time to explain, though and we feel compelled to get the details conveyed accurately. Or, at least I do. πŸ™‚
    God is faithful.
    My Bible reading today included Ps 139. Familiar, of course. But rereading it again in my RSV Bible just warmed me tremendously. WE ARE KNOWN. Elle is KNOWN. God’s plan for her is perfect and your role as her mom was according to His plan. πŸ™‚ Doesn’t it tickle you to know YOU are part of His perfect plan for Elle? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. inhistiming says:

    Stacy, I am so happy that I have such wise a woman in my life that I can call you my friend. Thank you for your encouragement. Yes, it absolutely tickles me that God thinks I am up to the challenge of raising Elle, along with her other siblings! It blesses me tremendously to know that He DOES know me and He knows all of them, that He has their life plan in His hands. I just have to lean on Him and trust. And I know that you know His plan is perfect for you is well. Praying that there will be more joy for you in the remainder of this year than you can imagine!

  3. Mimi says:

    I wanted to hit a “like” button for your reply to the post above πŸ™‚

Talk to me!

