The reason for my rejoicing

Elle’s ‘therapy’ began quicker than expected. We were set up for her first ‘session’ by the following week. The pictures below are typical of the types of activities Ms. E does with Elle. Elle enjoys it so much! When Ms. E arrives with her bag of goodies, Elle eagerly sits herself right down on the rug. She is ready to play!

Ms. E’s pegs…..Elle has learned how to say “up, up’ up” as she puts one atop another….and “tower” when it’s tall…..”fall down” when it gets too tall to stand any longer.

Elle loves to play with Ms. E’s Bears puzzle. She will place her finger to her lips and say “Ssshhh” when she sees the heads with the bears eyes closed, or even when she just sees the box in Ms. E’s bag.

Ms. E is helping Elle learn to play with a new toy……a shape and color sorter…..trying to get her to recognize which are the same and different.

Ms. E always asks Elle to find just one thing on the pages at a time. Today she asked her about the baby, which she showed us by opening the flap, and then helped her point to the girl when she asked her to find her.

Here Ms. E is singing Old MacDonald and moving her fingers in the puppet along with the beat…..Elle danced along a bit.

Play-doh, which Elle loves! She actually started to go get her own when Ms. E mentioned it, until Ms. E pulled out her own bag. They worked on rolling today.

The pegs are one of Elle’s favorite things, and she often wants to play again. She will go to get it out of Ms. E’s bag, and then has to ask before getting it, or finish her current task before getting it. This is one of the big things we are working on achieving….having her ask for things on her own instead of only repeating it when we say it to her.

Elle played with our own pegs later in the day with Corbin’s help. You can see she is saying, “Up, up, up!”

We’ve had months of frustration and worry, not knowing what Elle wanted half the time, having her get upset with us, unable to communicate her needs and wants. She has used more words sporadically, since beginning her sessions, during the day. She will now pretty regularly say “pup” (cup) when she is thirsty. Sometimes she will say and/or sign “more” when she wants more food. However, she doesn’t always use the sign and word appropriately, such as when she wants one of us to open something for her. Instead of saying “open”, which she will say when Ms. E is working with her and reminding her, she says “more”. So that adds to the confusion for us sometimes.

Last week Elle awoke in the middle of the night. I pretty much haven’t let her cry much since she was born. I mean, when she’s been asleep and begins crying, I wait only 2-3 minutes for her to settle, and if she doesn’t, I go check on her. Gone are my days of cry-it-out, at least for the most part. So I got up and walked down to her room when she didn’t get quiet. I opened the door to see her sitting up in her bed looking toward the door. As I went toward her, she reached out her little hand and said “Pup?” I was so thrilled, and actually heartbroken at the same time because, obviously, I did not have her cup in the bedroom with me and I knew she was going to be very upset when I left her to go get it. She was, but I was soon back to give her a drink and she quieted easily.

I was thanking God the whole night after that. It is a huge step for her to have used a word on her own, without being prompted. She felt thirsty, thought of the word, then used it appropriately when someone was there who could help her!

While I know we have much work to do and I don’t really know what our future is, I do know that God is with us and He tells us in His word to rejoice. We do still have the failed M-CHAT. What does that mean? I honestly don’t know. God does. He KNOWS, and He calls it good. I’m okay with that. We will continue to work with Elle. We love her. She is a blessing, no matter the struggles. And we will rejoice!

Philippians 4:4 

Rejoice in the Lord alway: and again I say, Rejoice. 

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Baby, Faith, Family, Inspiring Words and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The reason for my rejoicing

  1. Praising God with you! She is such a beautiful little girl 🙂

  2. Colleen says:

    LOVE this! Rejoicing and praying with you!

  3. Mimi says:

    Rejoicing with you!!

    ps. I have fond memories of Sam’s OT when he was a toddler. The boys still talk about the fun toys she would bring 🙂 Thanks for sharing all this, Wendy!!

    • inhistiming says:

      I’m so glad she let me take pics! I know we will be happy to have this record to look back on later. I’m thinking I ned to buy some more toys like hers because Emma loves them, too!

  4. Jenny Pena says:

    Wendy, when Sebastian was a baby. He was very active (like climbing out of his crib active), but non verbal. What words he did say did not make any sense. For milk he would say “coco.” For his monkey, which he carried everywhere (and still has), he would say “kiki.” By the time he was 18 months, we became concerned. We spoke to the doctor about it and she suggested we have him evaluated. Just like you we were concerned with having the government involved in the way we raise our children, but most of all we did not want Sebastian to be “labeled” at such a young age. We thought about it alot and decided to hold off on the evaluation and we enrolled him in My Gym classes and I started taking him to almost every story time at every library I could get to. Eventually, one night as we were putting him to bed as we were saying good night to him, he finally said good night to us. It was so awesome!!! Now, he is still very shy around people he does not know very well and he prefers to stay with me, his dad or brothers. If there is something going on that does not call his attention, he just rather not participate. We have learned that if we push him to try something and he can not do it or he tries something and he “fails” at it, he does become frustraited. If he likes something, like science or math or experiements, he is all in. We just think of him as “quirky”. And we thank God for him everyday!!! Elle is Elle. She has the best parents and brothers and sisters that anyone could ever ask for. She is going to be just fine.

    • inhistiming says:

      Thank you so much for your encouragement! I am so happy to have you in my life and I do hope we keep in touch even after we move. It has been a blessing to us to know your family and to have Sabian in our home each week, too, for the last two years. Your words mean so much to me.

      • Jenny Pena says:

        Awww…. Your words touch my heart so. YOU have been such a blessing to us. You have shared such wisdom with us regarding homeschooling and just watching you with your children has help me take on a much more relaxed approach to the way I approach homeschooling. Just saying “thank you” is not enough. God bless you always!!! You guys are awesome. We will miss you all very much.

      • inhistiming says:

        LOL Thanks. I have watched you with your children, and Sabian with his brothers, and thought you are so relaxed and peaceful, and they are, too. I even told the kids about how sweet Sabian was with Sam on our target shooting day. He was reminding him to “not be selfish and think of others” when you thought you may have to head home early. I told my kids that’s how I want them to treat their younger siblings, with authoritative kindness! Guess we can learn from each other! 🙂

  5. Stacy says:

    So glad you are finding the joy in the trials, Wendy.
    God is faithful and He will turn this all for good. ♥

  6. inhistiming says:

    Thank you, Stacy. Sometimes, as you know, it is tough. But I am learning to look for even just one small thing to be thankful for….it’s always there, I just have to look for it!

Talk to me!

