A place for notebooking in homeschooling?

medium_7130479539

This weekend I listened to a talk by Jimmie Lanley, aka, The Notebooking Fairy. I have to say, I really enjoyed her tips and ideas for notebooking. This is not a method we have used a lot in our homeschooling, though we have on occasion. It is a method that I have wanted to utilize more. Listening to Jimmie has caused me to reconsider how I might use notebooking and I am thinking we will get started with it once we are settled in Virginia.

We own a large variety of  books….science, history, children’s books, excellent literature, as well as some textbooks. I am sure that we could put together some terrific notebooks with the materials we have. Pinterest has a wealth of information that I can glean from, too! It will allow all of us to get in some creative time each day. I believe I will even have a notebook, not sure of the topic yet. I will probably also spend some time compiling the kids’ old papers into scrapbooks/notebooks. We have tons of traditional school papers and crafts from when they were attending school, not to mention all of the various work and drawings and craft projects they have done over our years of homeschooling. I do think it will be BIG fun!

I’ll have to do some more pondering, but wanted to share my thoughts right now. Be sure to check out the link above. Jimmie has great information and resources on her website!

How do you use notebooking in your homeschool or classroom?

 

photo credit: jimmiehomeschoolmom via photopin cc

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Reviews, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A place for notebooking in homeschooling?

  1. Mimi says:

    We are planning on going back to HOD this year. Thankfully, I was able to print off some notebooking pages to accompany our guide. We’ll see how it goes. Also, I think I’m going to have the pages bound at Staples. Hopefully, this will keep it all organized. So many fun ideas….so little time 🙂

    • inhistiming says:

      I’m still thinking about HOD, too. I just love their books so much! Maybe I could use their books and incorporate one or two of the subjects into notebooking…..I believe science and history are kind of notebook-ish (a new term?) anyway, so I could possibly have them expand on some of those ideas? I don’t know. Where did you find your notebooking pages? And which guide will you be using?

      • Mimi says:

        You could definitely incorporate notebooking into HOD! I believe the upper guides might have some notebooking pages sold through HOD, could be wrong?? I belong to the HOD yahoo group. Under files, some moms have uploaded notebooking pages. They are great! Let me know if you need help finding them, etc. 🙂

  2. Hi! Thanks so much for the mention. How sweet! Glad you enjoyed the talk!

  3. inhistiming says:

    Your welcome, Jimmie! And thanks so much for stopping by. I was encouraged by and learned so much from your talk at the UHSE. Thank you. 🙂

Talk to me!

