More packing progress

We’re getting closer and I am not ready! Days are flying by with no packing getting done. I did, however, get to the girls’ room this morning, and was able to pack up three boxes of clothes and blankets. One box is what they are wearing now, minus the things we’re keeping out to wear between now and the move and, of course, during the move. Another box is just being stored in their room, holding clothes that Elle will grow into. The third box is a compilation of clothing…..some for Corbin, which are actually big enough for him now so went into his closet…….the rest are dresses my mom made, mostly, that are too big for the little girls but much too small for Hailey at this point, plus a few pairs of shoes.

I also went through Corbin’s closet and removed too-small items or things he is not wearing. My quick inventory shows that he is pretty much covered for fall/winter now, except maybe a few miscellaneous things. This is good! I believe Elle is covered too, unless she has a growth spurt. I still have to check Logan’s, Hailey’s, and Emma’s closets to pack up and see what, if anything, they need. Logan has already packed his things though, so my inventory for will have to take place in VA. We wanted to have him get his stuff ready to go before his SLU trip (he leaves Monday!), because then we don’t have to wonder what he wants to keep out for wearing and traveling.

I have also been putting my ‘use-it-up’ cooking method into practice this week. I’m trying to make sure we aren’t left with much (hopefully nothing!) to toss out when we leave here on the 25th. Clearing out the freezers, planning our meals around what we have, and only buying what is necessary. And I am trying to shop the sales and stick to our budget. I normally employ this method anyway, but more exclusively now. So far so good!

I’ve begun a travel box for food…..placing snack items like peanuts, cereal bars, some condiments like ketchup and mustard, applesauce, plastic forks and spoons, paper towels……..portable and non-perishable items that we can eat as we travel. We’ll have to eat our meals in restaurants, but at least this will not require us to buy snacks, too. I need to start a toy/games box as well.

That’s it for progress thus far. I will try to post more later this week. No promises, though. Our first POD arrives Wednesday and another on Saturday, so we will be packing and loading in earnest! But, if I can post pictures, I will. Otherwise, I’ll see you in a few weeks once we are settled and have Internet again……possibly while we’re staying in our hotels traveling up I’ll post something.

It’ll just have to be a surprise, even to me!

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Family, Menu Planning, Food Budget, Cooking, Ministry, Moving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More packing progress

  1. Mimi says:

    You are my moving hero 🙂 Sounds like things are coming along. I had to laugh when you said you were doing your “use it up method” for cooking. I’ve been doing that just because I have been too lazy to go to the grocery store. We’ve had some pretty interesting food concoctions 🙂

Talk to me!

