A is for Apple-picking

When we moved up here to VA, one of the things that we were looking forward to and hoping for was the chance to go apple-picking again. We had such a great time doing that all three fall seasons that we spent in New York!

Now that we have made it into September, I’ve begun searching for apple orchards in the area. I’ve found a few that are close by. Some even have peaches still on trees for a week or two. I believe the kids and I will go apple-picking with our homeschool group sometime further into the fall, but our family is planning to go soon, in time to get apples and peaches. The peaches on our trees have been eaten by something……:(

My plan is to get enough apples to make applesauce, some pie filling, and anything else I can think of…..hoping to can the applesauce and filling, my first time trying that. The peaches, if we get enough, will be treated the same way. And we’ll eat several pounds fresh, of course!

What will you all make with your apples this fall? I would love to see your ideas in the comments section!

Oh, and this post is the first in a series! I’m Blogging through the Alphabet with Marcy. Join us? Just click on the button below.

Blogging Through the Alphabet

photo credit: Ron,Ron,Ron via photo pin cc

photo credit: Matt Niemi via photo pin cc

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Family, Field Trips, Homeschooling, Menu Planning, Food Budget, Cooking, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A is for Apple-picking

  1. Hi we always go to the Ayers Apple Orchard near Mt. Airy. At the end of the season you can pick what’s left for free. last year we had apples for months and made all of our friends sour cream apple pies for Christmas gifts. We go to The Virginia Mountains a lot. And know a lot of fun places to visit near Floyd.

  2. I love apple orchards & all that good fall stuff!! I’m sure you found the orchard in Bedford by the Peaks. I can’t remember the road it’s on, but my mom would know. I’m excited for you! Love ya!

  3. We also have apple orchards around us. One of our favorite things to do with them is cut into approriate sized chunks and freeze for pies or apple crisp. Sometimes I also make apple stuffing to go with a pork roast.

  4. Leslie says:

    How awesome. Our summers have been so hot lately that we don’t have many orchards left. I love making pies and applesauce!

  5. Jessica says:

    We always do pie filling and applesauce too. We also do Cinnamon Apples, which are canned with the red hot candies. So good.

  6. I heart all things apple! yum!

    thanks for linking up!

  7. csclark626 says:

    We’re planning to go apple picking next week! We love making apple butter. Yum!

Talk to me!

