B is for Busy-ness

Last week we started our ‘official’ school year. Up ’til last Monday we haven’t really had a schedule, except for chores, and that is still in flux since we just moved here over the summer. Anyway, last week we got started on some more learning endeavors. Logan with his high school courses, Hailey and Corbin using several Apps on my iPad. I also took on some additional work last week with TOS, so we have been busier than usual. Between work, homeschooling, cooking, and cleaning, I barely sat down to rest unless it was late at night. I’m talking midnight, people. That is when I shut my mind down and read. I love to read, so even if it was just 10 minutes a night, I had to get in some reading no matter the time! (My current reading material is a series by Ted Dekker, The Lost Books, then I’ll be back to his Circle series. Love his writing!)

Busy-ness is not good, well at least not for its own sake. Life can get busy for any of us. But when we are too busy and don’t have any time to rest, we can get stressed out. I have found myself in that situation more than once. Thoughts whirl through your head, you don’t know where to begin or how to begin.

Which is the most important thing? What can wait?

Here are three things I do in order to help me prioritize:

  • Make time to pray about my day, each day. God wants to be involved in every detail and He will help me to get organized, meet deadlines, deal with a stressful situation or person.
  • Is it a good thing or a God-thing? There are many good things that we can get busy doing. Sometimes we fill up our days doing good things for other people (and we should totally do this!) and letting our families slip. (I’ve been there!) So I try to take each thing and look at it as a good thing or a God-thing. A very wise friend once told me, “If you are saying yes to one thing, you are saying no to something else.” If it’s just good, I may choose not to do it. If it is something that I feel, along with my husband, that God is leading me to do or is giving me the opportunity to do, then I take it on. I know that He will help me to do all that is necessary to accomplish His goals.
  • Can I do this and still be home with my children, serving them and my husband? My ultimate goal, since God brought me home, has been to honor Him in the things that I do. I don’t always succeed, but He redeems me. My family is very forgiving. They truly want me to succeed, even if sometimes they don’t really understand how to help me do that. We’re learning together. So in everything, I seek to still be able to follow God’s call to be home and homeschool my children, serve my husband, and love my family as He has called me to do.

By the way, one great part of our busy-ness this week was Sunday. My husband and I celebrated 17 years of wedded bliss. So, B is for bliss, too! 😉

Blogging Through the Alphabet

So what do you do when life gets busy? Please leave a comment. I would love to hear what you have to say!

photo credit: supersum via photo pin cc

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Homeschooling, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to B is for Busy-ness

  1. When life gets busy I make an effort to worship, taking my mind right off my life and putting my focus on God and how wonderful He is. It helps me keep perspective.

  2. kelli- AdventurezInChildRearing says:

    Happy anniversary! it was our too- bliss is good- I said “Being in love” 🙂

  3. Jessica says:

    What an inspiring post! Thank you!

  4. I’ve been thinking about your post since yesterday. This prayer came to mind, “If it’s not of You, help me let it go. If it is of You, help me accomplish it by Your strength.”

  5. csclark626 says:

    Saying ‘No’ has been a very hard but necessary lesson for me learn! Happy anniversary!

  6. inhistiming says:

    Reblogged this on Following In His Footsteps and commented:

    I find it quite ironic that I wrote this post quite in the midst of taking on something that I was not called by God to do…..it took a couple of months for me to realize it. Now I am back to step 2. Is it a good thing or a God-thing. I will be weighing this more carefully from now on. 😉

Talk to me!

