A word for the new year

In the past I have not chosen a word for the year. However, recent events have caused me to change that for 2013. My word is ‘surrender’.

To surrender means to give up control of something or to give something up to another. (verb) (via http://www.yourdictionary.com/surrender)

medium_5596859697

 This year I will be working hard to surrender my ideas of normal, my control over certain situations, and my need-to-know tendencies. God knows, and I want to choose His best over my idea of what is best. The two do not always mesh. In fact, God’s plan is always better!

Will this be an easy task? The short answer is no. It has never been easy for me to let things go.

Is it possible? Emphatically yes! I know from experience that the more I seek him, the more I keep my eyes fixed on His purposes and His plans, then the easier it will be for me. The moment I take my eyes off of Jesus and put them on myself or my circumstances?

That is when I begin to flounder.

God’s word says in Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

This has been my life verse since we were newly married and living in Auburn.

 As I daily seek to surrender my life to His will and His good plans, the closer I will walk with him and the easier it will be to focus on heavenly things.

So what is YOUR word for the new year? Will you share it and your story here in the comments?

 

photo credit: Andre Bohrer via photopin cc

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Baby, Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A word for the new year

  1. Pingback: Hopes & dreams for the rest of the year | Following In His Footsteps

  2. Pingback: God’s Word in my Life | Following In His Footsteps

Talk to me!

