What to do when your ‘gift’ doesn’t quite hit the mark

Have you ever received a gift that just didn’t quite meet your expectations? Or maybe you’ve given one that was considered ‘less than’. I think we all have! When that happens, I think the best thing we can do is look for the positive. That ‘positive thing’ may be the thought behind the gift, the relationship you have with the giver, or a whole host of other things that I could list but won’t. πŸ™‚

Today is Valentine’s Day. The day of love! People all across the world are giving and receiving gifts to show how much they care about one another. I received a few fun gifts and cards this morning myself, but one was a little unexpected, and not exactly what I was hoping to receive.

IMG_5016

The little girls were having fun with some Valentine’s Day themed stickers.

IMG_5015

I also allowed them to use some fun, pint-sized markers.

IMG_5017

When they were done, stickers, markers, and construction paper were everywhere, so I began to move the furniture around, sweeping up and putting everything to rights.

IMG_5021

 

Which is when I noticed this.

Yeah. Someone went to the naughty step. I texted my husband and he gave me a ‘trick’ to try.

IMG_5022

Here is the mark that I found on the shelf under the coffee table.

IMG_5023

Yes, that is dry erase marker.

IMG_5024

 

Doesn’t make sense does it?

IMG_5028

I had to apply the marker and wipe it off about 3 times, and all of it did not come off, but our white coffee table at least looks a little better.

If nothing else, this will be an excuse to paint the bottom black in order to coordinate with our black end table that is the one ‘outsider’ in the room.

You may be asking, what’s my positive?

While misguided and definitely naughty, it looks as if someone may have been trying to write her name.

IMG_5021

I clearly see an ‘M’!Β 

 

 

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Baby, Family, Homeschooling, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What to do when your ‘gift’ doesn’t quite hit the mark

  1. I see A at the end. What a great example of being positive!! Happy Valentine’s Day! πŸ™‚ Love you and your family.

  2. inhistiming says:

    Thanks! Yeah, it does kind of look like it was an attempt at an A. And just so everyone realizes, I DO NOT always see the positive, and definitely not always in the beginning! I was really struggling with that one this morning. However, it did please me to see that she had done something ‘educational’, no matter that it was not on the appropriate materials. πŸ™‚

  3. Prey Species says:

    there was an article I came across not so long ago – really wish I could remember where – you would get a kick out of it given this post….the subject was basically that misbehaviors such as these while annoying are signs that your child is learning πŸ™‚ if I find it again i promise to send it your way πŸ™‚

  4. inhistiming says:

    That would be fun! Yes, please let me know if you find it. πŸ™‚ So glad you stopped by for a visit.

Talk to me!

