Pinterest as Homeschool Curriculum

I was one who avoided the whole Pinterest ‘craze’. I mean, did I really need another social media platform to suck my time away?! I refused to even check it out for about 6 months after I got the invite from my friend. However, I finally gave in and I have never looked back! Who knew what an amazing resource it would be? Obviously the creators thought so. 🙂

They were right. I have found many delicious recipes, decorating ideas, travel destinations, teacher blogs, homeschooling web sites, phonics lessons, gift ideas, and so much more. I absolutely adore the way I can ‘pin’ something I see to a board on my account and it will remain there always unless I remove it. Brilliant!

I also think Pinterest is a fabulous marketing platform for businesses and bloggers. I have seen it with my friends’ businesses and blogs. How else can you reach such a large number of people in such an easy way?

My point here is, if Pinterest is so great for finding all of these terrific resources and ideas, and for reaching so many people, why couldn’t it be used exclusively for homeschooling? I could totally use it to homeschool all of my children. Not only are there the ‘pins’ that I have already found, there are new pins showing up by the second! I will be able to continue to add to my collection of lessons, resources, and curriculum packages that I can refer to at any time.

Tandem Coloring

Here are just two examples of how one can organize a board for homeschooling:

The Early Learning board covers the Pre-K years. I am so looking forward to gathering some of these supplies and doing projects with my two littlest girls!

My Notebooking board is a collection of ideas for implementing Notebooking in our homeschool, which is just another method used for learning. I have fewer ‘pins’ here but I am adding to my boards daily, so that number will increase.

The ability to organize ideas, and then further organize, is an amazing and very practical feature of Pinterest. I have boards for subjects as well as grade levels, and even a few micro-organized subjects such as Language Arts: Spelling and Language Arts: Reading. I highly recommend the use of Pinterest in homeschooling, as well as for other areas of interest.

How do you use Pinterest in your homeschool?

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Homeschooling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pinterest as Homeschool Curriculum

  1. Pinterest really brings so many great ideas right to your finger trips – sometimes it’s better than a trip to the library :)….and when the idea doesn’t work – what my friends and I call a pinterest flop….it’s an excellent lesson too!

  2. I love Pinterest! I use it all of the time and check it about 2-3 times a week. I use it to organize craft projects for myself and my children. I use it to organize ideas, tips, tricks, and units. I think it is a great tool for homeschool moms. I will have to “follow” you there. You are welcome to follow along with me as well! sbeidson

    • inhistiming says:

      I know, it’s so great! I’m in my planning stage now for fall, hoping to use the ideas I find there for homeschooling. That will help with clutter here from school books, too, I hope!

  3. Miss Dough says:

    Pinterest is a wonderful resource for homeschooling. Teachers use these ideas every day and it is fabulous that they share their ideas. I homeschool my two children and six others in my home and we have so much fun. I am inspired to make my own creations and have done so to the little kiddos liking. The organization boards are my favorite 🙂

    • inhistiming says:

      Thanks for stopping by, Miss Dough! I, too, love the organization ideas. I’ve got several saved and hope to use some soon in organizing our boys’ room in particular. Hope to see you back here very soon!

  4. I have to be honest, I have to be very careful and limit myself on Pinterest. Thanks for sharing your posts and boards! This will help me find more resources without getting lost in the maze!

  5. Thank you for linking up at NextGen Homeschool’s “What’s Working Wednesday!” Like you, I was a late bloomer on Pinterest, and I’m just starting to create boards to gather more wonderful homeschooling resources online. Now I just have to go back and start reorganizing, instead of having dozens of pins called “homeschooling helps” to browse through! I like your board names!

    Hope you’ll link up with us again in the future!
    Renée at NextGen Homeschool

  6. Amy says:

    So, so true! I love creating Pinterest boards for units that I know we’ll soon be starting. I’d love to have you follow along – I’ll be following you. 🙂 ANestintheRocks

    Thanks for linking up to Inspired Wednesdays!

  7. adaisygarden says:

    Great ideas for homeschooling parents. I home schooled my kids, who are now grown and married, and a resource like Pinterest would have been great!

  8. inhistiming says:

    I know, right? Even though my oldest is only starting high school, it would have been so nice to have Pinterest available when we were starting out! Thanks for stopping in. I hope to see you here again!

  9. Pinterest Rocks! Especially when I know I need something or some help in some way… it is visual so I can just roll on through the items until I find that perfect fit. It is awesome with homeschooling! Thanks for sharing!

    • inhistiming says:

      I guess we’re kindred spirits, then! That is one reason I love it too, the ability to ‘see’ what it is I’m looking for, rather than scrolling through tons of links that may or may not say what I think it should say. 😉 Thanks for stoppingby, and I’m so glad you enjoyed my post! Come again to visit.

  10. Pingback: Homeschooling 101: How To Keep Student Records

Talk to me!

