How to Find Balance & Solace in the Shadow of Mt. Laundry

How to Find Balance & Solace in the Shadow of Mt. Laundry from www.followinginhisfootsteps.wordpress.com #balance

Last weekend was a ‘high’ for me. I was able to get away for an entire weekend with other Christian Homeschooling Blogging Moms at The 2:1 ConferenceOh yes! If you are not a blogger, you may not understand the draw, but if you are one of us, you so get it!

Things worked out in such a way to get me there, that I knew God was in it. He wanted me there. Before leaving I had prayed that He would meet me there. And He did. Throughout the weekend, during conversations as well as during speaking events where I was only listening, I would feel the Holy Spirit. I could feel His presence while I talked with other Christian ladies about homeschooling, about the technicalities of blogging, and about Jesus. I came home Sunday night filled with ideas for my blog, with about 100 new sisters in Christ (truly!), and with several contacts with whom I wanted to follow-up. I also came home renewed for the homeschool journey.

However, the week following was very busy. In an effort to make sure I had things covered with my blogs over the weekend and did not need to try and write while at the conference, I had worked hard to write guest-posts for others, schedule posts for my own blogs, as well as preparing meals for the family, etc. I did not realize until the Monday morning following the conference that I had ended up agreeing to a writing commitment for every day of that week. I still needed to homeschool, restock the pantry, and spend time with my children, some of which were needy after my time away!

I spent a lot of time online, sending emails, writing blog posts, asking questions in Facebook groups, ironing out details for some online work I’ll be doing, etc. I cooked, I did laundry, I bought groceries, I ran children to activities, and more. I was getting up early and staying up late. I wrote a blog post that was the most popular one I have ever written. It was a direct, positive result from attending the conference. That was exciting!

By Saturday morning, I had hit a ‘low’. My children had been cranky and fighting all week. My husband was irritated with me, and I was less than pleased with him. The laundry had piled up again, due in part to a child who had not been diligent with his own, and I just could not take it anymore. I spewed forth words that were not love-filled. I made accusations. I felt hurt and disappointed, and wrapped myself in it for a time.

How could such a wonderful weekend be followed up by this one of hateful words and frustration? 

As I sized up Mt. Laundry in our upstairs laundry room, that is less than ideal for a family of our size, I suddenly knew where I had gone wrong. In my striving to meet deadlines, to follow-up with those contacts first, to implement all the ideas I came home with, I had been leaving God out of my days.

Where had my quiet time gone? When had I let my mind rest, let it be still? Didn’t I want God to be the leader in all this? Wasn’t that one of the resounding themes of the conference I had attended the weekend before?

Right then I shut the laundry room door and knelt down beside sodden pants and dirt-covered socks. I cried and prayed in that tiny room, asking God once again to step in and lead me, rather than me charging forward without Him. And then I started the first of five loads of laundry. I remembered that God was with me, in all that I do, even when it is an insurmountable pile of laundry that wouldn’t have been there if it had not been for someone else’s mistake.

It does not surprise me in the least that the first point in our message at church this morning was Come Back to God. It was another beautiful reminder that He will never leave me nor forsake me. If I look around and I cannot find Him, it is because I have run far from Him through my seeking to do things on my own. I find solace in the fact that He is always there. And if I seek Him daily, I will also find the balance that I need.

Even in the shadow of Mt. Laundry.

Make sure you take a look at this 2:1 Conference Promo Video 2014-Chicago to determine if you need a time of refreshing with new sisters in Christ! I think you do. 😉

How was your week? Do you have a story to share here about how God is pursuing you? Please leave me a comment!

*This post is linked up over at Teachers of Good Things.

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Homeschooling, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How to Find Balance & Solace in the Shadow of Mt. Laundry

  1. I think most of us 2:1-ers had a crazy week back! Speaking of church reminders, was feeling down about various “just keep swimming” things in life, and my pastor reminded us that “faithfulness is success.”

    • inhistiming says:

      Yes, I think that is the case! Being faithful to the little things, following His call on our own lives, yes, I would say that IS success! Thanks for sharing and commenting. 🙂

  2. Raising Sticky Hands To Heaven says:

    Boy, can I relate. Not with being blessed enough to attend a blog conference, 😉 but everything else. I’ve been coming back to God the last few days after a crazy busy couple of weeks that followed my being away for a weekend. Isn’t it so nice to know that He is still there, and that He will meet us even when we are up to our ears in dirty clothes?

  3. I still am climbing that same mountain- ever since 2:1 (even before that)!

  4. Excellent reminder. I’ve been feeling overwhelmed in the shadow of Mt. Laundry since we had our newest little one, six weeks ago. I just can’t seem to catch up on anything just yet! This was a good reminder to lean on God, rather than try to do it all my own!

    • inhistiming says:

      Oh, I’m so glad you were encouraged! Sometimes things DO get overwhelming, even when we know we are right where God wants us to be. Keep moving forward, and keep your eyes on Him. It’s what I’m trying to do each day. 🙂 Thanks for stopping and leaving your word of encouragement for me.

  5. Pingback: 5 ways to tell if you fit the Large-Homeschooling-Family mold | Following In His Footsteps

Talk to me!

