5 Books for Learning About Unschooling [and some other helpful links]

5 Books for Learning About Unschooling This Summer [and some other helpful links] www.followinginhisfootsteps.wordpress.com #unschooling #homeschool

This summer has been a busy one for us. We had family in town for about 2 weeks, and both of our older children have been away on trips during the month of June. Our oldest son arrives home today! We hope to celebrate the birth of our nation this week, and the many freedoms we enjoy in this country, with a little less busy-ness than we have experienced so far this summer (though we would not trade the experiences or family time for anything!), as we head into July.

In the coming months, my oldest son will be continuing with a Spanish 1 course he is about halfway through. You can find it here, and read my review.  Logan and my oldest daughter will also continue with their (new to them) once a month Advanced Art Class meetups, and we’re heading to Poplar Forest mid-month! We will also be spending some time working in our garden, weeding, watering, and hopefully harvesting our produce! My husband and I have discussed a possible long weekend trip either to the beach or to a zoo or amusement park, but we’re not sure when.

Even amidst the busy-ness, I have managed to find time to begin reading some new books about unschooling. Those resources, along with some books that I have read before but need to read again, are listed below. If you click on any of the links and end up making a purchase, I will receive a small commission. Any funds I receive will go towards our learning needs or to the running of my blogs. Please see my Disclosure policy to learn more. 

Deschooling Gently

The Unschooling Handbook : How to Use the Whole World As Your Child’s Classroom

The Unschooling Unmanual

Learning All The Time

How Children Learn (Classics in Child Development)

The one below is more of a fun Geometry book. My husband and I were playing around with it last night to see what we remembered from our school years. For me, I can tell you, it wasn’t much! But I will also say that I felt no pressure like I did when presented with all the theorems, etc. in my 10th grade Geometry book! With this one I may actually be able to learn and understand Geometry in a fun way.

Doodle Yourself Smart . . . Geometry (Doodle Books)

After I purchased the above book, I also learned that there are two more in the Doodle Yourself Smart series. I’m listing them below for easy reference, but please note that I have not used the books on this list myself. I’m simply recommending you check them out, based on the fun I had last night with the Geometry book in the series.

Doodle Yourself Smart . . . Math (Doodle Books)

Doodle Yourself Smart…Physics (Doodle Books)

By the way, if you would like to learn even more about what unschooling is, here are some helpful articles on the subject.

What is Unschooling? 

Is there a difference between a Radical Unschooler and just an Unschooler?

Within God’s will?

There are many, many other blog posts and books about unschooling out in cyber-land. The above are just a few that I have found helpful. I do not endorse every single thought or method within the pages of these books or on these web sites. I am reading through and determining what is right for our family. I encourage you to do the same. And please don’t judge others based on their homeschooling, unschooling, or traditional schooling decisions. We are all called by God to His plan for our own lives and no one else’s!

How are you spending your summer? Please leave a comment to let me know what you’re reading. Have you read any of the above books? Are you an unschooler, homeschooler, traditionally schooled, a teacher? Please say hello, too!

*This post and many more are part of the Teach Them Diligently Summer of Homeschool Encouragement Link Up Series. You can read more about other Homeschool Curriculum choices here.

curriculumchoicesTTD July linkup image

I’ve also linked this post up over at Girlfriends Coffee Hour. Hope you’ll join me there!

Girlfriends Coffee Hour
About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in affiliates, Faith, Family, gardening, Homeschooling, John Holt, Unschooling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 5 Books for Learning About Unschooling [and some other helpful links]

  1. Mimi says:

    Hey Wendy! Thanks for sharing….you know I’m a book junkie 🙂 Have a great 4th!

  2. Kristi @ The Potter's Hand Academy says:

    These look like WONDERFUL resources! I’ll have to add them to my reading list, thank you!

  3. Mama Kautz says:

    Great post!! We are loosely Charlotte Mason…..borderline Unschoolers. I do have the Unschoolers Handbook and I graduated 2 very much self motivated sons. My second two aren’t as self motivated.

    • Thanks. We’ve been partial unschoolers for a while, and in the areas that are completely unschooled I have loved seeing my kids soar! We are working to embrace it fully, hence my summer reading (and re-reading) list. 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

Talk to me!

