Homeschool Mama, You CAN Do It!

Homeschool Mama, You CAN Do It! www.followinginhisfootsteps.wordpress.com #encouragement #homeschool

Today started out a bit messy for me. In all honesty, many parts of the entire weekend were a huge mess! Messy attitudes, Messy hearts.

Mine included.

I have been feeling like I don’t have any worth…..well, more like others don’t see it.

However, God always knows what we need when we need it. I have received three confirmations today that I am doing exactly what He has called me to do as far as homeschooling and using my platform here to encourage other moms! And the people that need my encouragement, that He means for me to reach, are seeing my worth, which is ultimately in Him, anyway.

1. A friend sent me a text this morning asking for help. She needed “Eternal Perspective” as she put it. Her family has recently made the decision to begin homeschooling again. She has never done high school at home and all of those questions that creep in were freaking her out!

You know the ones:

Won’t they miss out on prom? What about a class ring? What if I can’t do it?

I was able to give her my perspective, which I try to keep on par with the eternal perspective, and she was thankful. Simply to have a friend to encourage her, to come alongside her as she enters this sometimes scary world again, that we call homeschooling. I am so glad that I could be that friend, as she and others have been to me in the past.

2. I received a sweet note from an aunt. I never would have thought in a million years that I would be a long-distance source of encouragement to her! She is the one I always saw at church, spending time serving and praying and loving others. I spent so much time at her house as a child, that she sometimes thought I was her daughter when I answered her telephone! 🙂 Here is what she had to say:

Homeschool Mama, You CAN Do It! www.followinginhisfootsteps.wrodpress.com #encouragement #homeschool

3. I am a member of several Facebook groups. When notifications pop on I will head on over and check out what’s going on. If the topic is something I can relate to or help with, I chime in. I love that I have this social media network available to me so that I can help others! I chimed in on a thread today, simply giving my opinion and things I’ve learned from my experiences with homeschooling. Another mom soon stated that I am a “veteran homeschooler” and have “a lot of knowledge”. Now obviously it feels good to hear this and it would be easy for me to take the credit, to get prideful. But I need to say here and now that anything good, anything knowledgable in me, has come from God. He has taught me and re-taught me the same lessons that I now try to help others learn. There are some lessons  that I am still in the midst of learning, despite His great efforts. I know that He will not forsake me and that as long as I am pursuing His purpose for me then I will be able to reach others for His kingdom!

Homeschool mama, believe that you can do it!

  • If God has called you to begin this journey we call homeschooling, then He will equip you.
  • If you are already on the journey but you are feeling weary, as if you can’t do it, trust in Him. You CAN, in His strength.
  • If you know a mama, whether she is homeschooling or not, be an encouragement to her. Parenting is hard. Offer to babysit, bring a meal, take her out for coffee, or simply send a not of encouragement to let her know that you are thinking of her and how proud of her you are. She needs you to do that. You may never know the impact it will have on her life, on any given day, to simply hear your words of affirmation!
About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Homeschooling, Ministry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Homeschool Mama, You CAN Do It!

  1. Nita says:

    Oh I had those same questions when homeschooling my recently graduated oldest daughter. I only did it for a year then graduated her. These are some things that helped. (1) Join an Umbrella Group of homeschooling group that has a prom/dance yearly (2) Create your kid a yearbook for each year of their at home high school (3) Get them a class ring (4) have them take some Community College courses (5) have them attend camps geared at high schoolers and encourage them to keep these friends as pen pals (6) Have friends/relatives who are in public school invite your kid to their school dances. (7) Graduation photos (we purchased cap/gown online) and took pictures at JC Pennies. Other than those things, my daughter didn’t feel left out.

  2. Mimi says:

    Love this post, Wendy!

  3. LuAnn Braley says:

    What wonderful words of encouragement…especially as the “Back-to-School” sales are heating up!

  4. Heather says:

    I love how God brings encouragement just when we need it most!

  5. Pingback: A Letter to My Sisters: Our Hope, God’s Promise | Following In His Footsteps

Talk to me!

