How We Use Cranberry Thanksgiving in Our Home [& a giveaway]

How We USe Cranberry Thanksgiving in Our Homeschool www.followinginhisfootsteps.wordpress.com #InspiredBN #giveaway

A few years ago I was blessed to discover the book Cranberry Thanksgiving at our local library.

Cranberry Thanksgiving is a fun little story about Grandmother, Maggie, Mr. Whiskers, and some other characters, as they share a Thanksgiving meal. An extra bonus is that the book has a yummy-looking recipe on the back that we decided to try. And it is delicious!

We proceeded to check out the book from our local library every year and make several batches of the cranberry bread recipe. It soon became a tradition for our family. However, we had a bit of trouble getting our hands on this book each year. I guess lots of folks enjoy the book and the recipe each fall!

Last year I decided to buy my own copy of Cranberry Thanksgiving. I also gifted two books to my nieces and nephews because I wanted them to be able to enjoy the story and recipe with their families, too!

Now, each year,  we read the book together during the autumn season, as part of our homeschooling. We then work together to prepare Grandmother’s Famous Cranberry Bread. I have learned that I need to prepare a triple batch [several triple batches in fact!], due to our family-size, coupled with our love for this recipe! We store the ‘extras’ in the freezer for quick breakfast, snack, and dessert solutions. I hope you will love the recipe, and the book, as much as we do!

This week I am thrilled to announce that I will be gifting one copy of Cranberry Thanksgiving to a lucky reader here! Be sure to enter the Rafflecopter giveaway for your chance to win. The giveaway will run from Sunday, September 15, 2013 through Saturday, September 21, 2013.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Oh, and don’t forget to check out all of the other bloggers who are joining in with Autumn Inspiration Week! Simply click on the image below.

How We Use Cranberry Thanksgiving in our Home [& a Giveaway] www.followinginhisfootsteps.wordpress.com #homeschool #giveaway

 

 

Teach Them Diligently Homeschool Convention 2014

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in Autumn, Book Recommendations, Family, Homeschooling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to How We Use Cranberry Thanksgiving in Our Home [& a giveaway]

  1. Melissa Bell says:

    I have had my eye on Cranberry Thanksgiving for over a year. I have 2 little girls that would really enjoy this book!

  2. kbalman says:

    My kids love books especially holiday books

  3. Joy C. says:

    We also loved reading that book last year for FIAR! We checked out a copy from the library – but I would LOVE to own it so we can enjoy the book and bread whenever we want – not just within a 3 week period. =) Thanks for the giveaway!

  4. amy says:

    I’ve seen this book around on blogs a lot but I don’t think we’ve ever read it. We’d love to have a copy in our home-library.

  5. Shecki says:

    The recipe sounds like something my 13 year old daughter would enjoy making for our family

  6. Amy says:

    Loved the Cranberry series when I was a kid. Would love to share them with my own!

  7. Brittney says:

    I have wanted to read this book for awhile, and I know my husband would love if we made him the cranberry bread recipe!

  8. I saw your FaceBook post about finding the Christmas version and I had to go search out the book for myself! So excited to learn about a new holiday book with a great recipe – thanks so much for sharing!!!

  9. What a fun idea! We haven’t read this story, and my kids are great ages for something like this. Headed to enter now, and looking forward to more #InspiredBN posts from you this week! Be blessed!

    • Thanks! And yes, do tune in again. I will have posts here as well as some recipes over at my foodie blog, Southern Test Kitchen. You will find a button for it in the righthand sidebar. 🙂

  10. Joy says:

    We LOVE Cranberry Thanksgiving and read it every year!

  11. This looks like such a nice book!

  12. Pingback: Dairy-Free Pumpkin Bread

  13. I am not entering b/c I already have the book but this is a favorite around our house. We also like Cranberry Christmas.

    • Aw, you can enter and gift it to someone, if you want to! I appreciate that you stopped by anyway. I had my hubby ask about at the grocery store about cranberries, but fresh ones aren’t quite in season yet. I cannot wait! 🙂

  14. Clarissa says:

    I think my kids would love it!

  15. HillaryM says:

    We love this book and check it out every year. I haven’t found it at Goodwill or it would be on our shelves. 😉 Our first time reading it was using Five in a Row during my eldest daughter’s kindergarten year. She’s now starting her 7th grade year and still loves it. I just found today a bag of cranberries in our freezer (they freeze well). We may just have to bake some cranberry bread. 🙂

    • That’s where I happened to find the Christmas one, so I snapped it up! We may use FIAR with my two littles, have not decided yet. Leaning that way because I do have B4FIAR, FIAR, and BFIAR…..kind of thinking i can’t beat not having to buy them!Glad you stopped in, Hillary! Good luck.

  16. I’d love to have this book for our collection! It’s always unavailable at the library when I want it. Can’t imagine why… 🙂

  17. Oh, I love books about Thanksgiving!! This looks like one our family would enjoy:)

  18. elissa guidos says:

    I grew up with this book and somewhere along the way, it got lost :(. We usually try to get it at the library, but as you mentioned, it’s a tough one to get your hands on! It would be great to have our own copy 🙂

  19. Hi Wendy! I’d like to win a copy for the library we are “building” within our home that I hope, some day, to open up to other homeschoolers. 🙂 Thank you!

  20. Christel says:

    This is the first time I’ve heard of this book. Cranberries are already a fun fall tradition in our house… I would love to add to it. My husband and I met online several years ago and the first time he came to visit me where I lived I took him cranberry picking on a bog for our “date”. I will never forget the sight of him in his nice button up shirt and clean shoes, with his neatly combed hair… bouncing and squelching around on a floating bog mat! Our daughter will be 2 years old next month and I am looking forward to getting her involved in family traditions now!

  21. Linda says:

    love cranberries, especially this time of year! This book brings back fun memories from our FIAR days. Thanks for sharing how your family enjoyed this book. (Can’t get rafflecopter to load, I’ll try back later)

  22. I would love to win this to read with my children. It would be perfect for fall and Thanksgiving! What a great giveaway, Wendy!!!

Talk to me!

