How to Resist Playing the Comparison Game

How to Resist Playing the Comparison Game www.followinginhisfootsteps.wordpress.com #encouragement

Sometimes, as a mom, wife, daughter, sister, blogger, friend…and the list goes on….I look around and I see all the things others are doing. I see their accomplishments, the excellent behavior of their children, their seemingly perfect marriages, their ministries, their craft projects, the beautiful cakes they make, their godliness, and I begin to feel beat down. I feel less-than, unworthy, like I am *just* a mom, *just* a wife, *just* a tiny blogger. It’s not a good feeling. Noticing and comparing like this can cause my mood to change in a moment. And I do not like the changes I see or feel.

I have also noticed that this is a particular problem for women in general. We fall into the trap of comparing ourselves to others. Looking at other people and feeling we are not worth anything. We’re afraid to take off the mask we put on, sometimes daily, and let another person truly see who we are.

When this happens, God will often bring another person into my life right then to speak life into me. To encourage me along the journey. Maybe I’ll read a blog post or have a coversation with another mother where she tells me she thinks my kids are great or that she appreciates a certain thing about me or my family. Or a song may come on the radio that speaks exactly to that pain in my heart at the moment. To the pain that Satan has placed there, or rather, that I have allowed to worm it’s way in there when Satan placed those negative thoughts and words in my mind. After all, I am responsible for the things I think about, for what I dwell on.

Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honorable, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

We all think things at times that are not positive, are not godly, and are sometimes even hateful. However, the sin comes from dwelling on that thought rather than taking it captive.

2 Corinthians 10:5 We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.

Today my encouragement came in the form of a text from a New York friend, a song playing on the radio, and a text from my husband.  God is so good! 

How can you resist playing the comparison game?

  • Take your thoughts captive every. single. time. a negative thought plays itself across your mind. Believe truth! Dwell on truth. Do not let Satan get a foothold.
  • Pray. Ask God to help you begin to believe that you are worthy. That you are not *just* anything. You are His beautiful creation. God created you for a specific purpose, and He wants to reveal it to you, in His timing!
  • Search the bible for verses that tell you who you are, Whose you are. Memorize them. Memorize only one if that is all you can manage, but repeat it to yourself often and believe it. God is truth!
  • Do not believe the lies that Satan and the world tells you! The magazines, the commercials, the radio, society is wrong. We do not need to compare, we do not need to keep up with everyone else. What we need to do is simply trust God, believe His word, and know that we are beautiful because He created us in the image of Himself.

Psalm 139: 1-18 

O LORD, you have examined my heart and know everything about me. You know when I sit down or stand up. You know my thoughts even when I’m far away. You see me when I travel and when I rest at home. You know everything I do. You know what I am going to say even before I say it, LORD. You go before me and follow me. You place your hand of blessing on my head. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too great for me to understand! I can never escape from your Spirit! I can never get away from your presence! If I go up to heaven, you are there; if I go down to the grave,a you are there. If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans, even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me. I could ask the darkness to hide me and the light around me to become night—but even in darkness I cannot hide from you. To you the night shines as bright as day. Darkness and light are the same to you. You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it. You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed. How precious are your thoughts about me,b O God. They cannot be numbered! I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up, you are still with me!

I’d like to leave you with a song, which came on the radio just before I began to write this post. It was the catalyst for getting me out of my own ‘funk’ today, and to begin dwelling on the beauty of Christ and how He has created me beautiful, just as I am.

MercyMe – Beautiful

How do you resist playing the comparison game? Tell me in the comments!

This post is linked up with

Hearts for Home Blog Hop
The Homeschool Village
About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five, blogger, foodie, works in social media and marketing, loves Jesus
This entry was posted in encouragement, Faith and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to Resist Playing the Comparison Game

  1. Awesome, Wendy! I know this is relatable to so many-if not all-moms. It is a constant battle for me in this blog world to not get hung up on the “bigger” blogs. My pastor recently said, “God called us to feed His sheep, not to count them.” As long as we are feeding those who need to be fed God’s word and His grace, I think we are all doing just fine. Will be sharing this!! Thank you for this wonderful focus.

  2. gail golden says:

    I agree, Wendy. Glad I found your blog and will be a new follower. Please stop by Gail-Friends real soon.

Talk to me!

