4 Activities to Enjoy Outdoors With Preschoolers

4 Activities to Enjoy Outdoors with Preschoolers www.followinginhisfootsteps.wordpress.com #homeschool

This week I spent some time outside with my children. We enjoyed the sun and the warmer weather so much! I especially enjoyed seeing my little girls hug each other and laugh together….they are best friends after all….as well as watching them interact with their older siblings. We would miss out on so much if we were not homeschooling! I hope these 4 activities will help you to enjoy some time outdoors together in the near future, too.

  1. Gardening Planting a Garden with Preschoolers We got out this week and dug around in our raised beds. We hope to plant carrots, tomatoes, lettuce, and cucumbers very soon. Teaching Mama offers some great step-by-step photos of their gardening fun! You’ll also find great ideas over at Rainy Day Mum in 10 Gardening Activities for Tots. Go Play in the Dirt from learningandyearning gives some terrific stats about WHY it’s good to get dirty! You’ll also find suggestions for how to do it.
  2. Chalk Play My little girls love to use chalk on our driveway. Here are a few links to help you find new ideas for your preschoolers and chalk! DIY Chalk Paint from Learn with Play at home tells you how to make paint using chalk. Some of these Sidewalk Chalk Games from Birthday Party Ideas 4 Kids may work for your preschooler.  Childhood Beckons has some great tips for creating a Sidewalk Chalk Farm!
  3. Water Play My girls love to play with water. They ‘swim’ in the bath tub and  love to ‘wash dishes’ and pour ‘tea’ with their toy tea set any time it’s warm out! Train Up a Child Learn As We Go mixes Balls and Water Play for some cooling off fun. Or Outside Play: Water from Inspiration Laboratories  might be more up your alley.
  4. Bubbles Another favorite activity for my little ones is bubbles. We just bought a large, spill-proof bubble container that includes 3 large bubble wands, for some bubble-blowing-fun this weekend. You may choose to expand your bubble experience with Bubble Play and Concoctions found over at Growing a Jeweled Rose. Or maybe Flyswatter Bubbles from Share & Remember will ‘float your boat’. [yes, pun intended!]

Please do let me know if you try these activities or if you have anything to add to the list! Simply leave a reply in the comments section.

This post is linked up with

Moms Mustard Seeds

and

CURRclick offers fantastic preschool resources. Click the image below to visit their page and see what they have to offer you!

CurrClick

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five
This entry was posted in Family, gardening, Homeschooling, preschool printables & activities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 4 Activities to Enjoy Outdoors With Preschoolers

  1. Thank you for sharing my preschool garden idea!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: How to Work Together and Benefit the Entire Family | Following In His Footsteps

  3. Ing says:

    We did water play a lot in our home. My kids love bubbles and chalk too! The only one we’ve not tried is gardening. Seems daunting to me…

    • My girls LOVE water play! Now that it is finally warm again we have been spending much more time outdoors, which is better for all of us. This is our first garden. So far so good, but since I have 5 kiddos, and some are older, I have not had to do any of the garden work yet. 😉 I will help harvest, prepare, and eat though! Thanks for stopping by, Ing. I hope you’ll stop in again!

  4. Beyond The Cover says:

    I agree about homeschooling to create bonds with older and younger siblings. I’m 15 1/2 years older than my younger brother and to be able to go outside and watch him play and then have him ask me to, “Come play with me!” Sweet outdoor activities for the littles.
    Thank you for linking up with The Ultimate Homeschool Blog Hop.

Talk to me!