Thanksgiving travels and fun

We traveled yesterday down to GA, to the cabin where we always spend Thanksgiving with my husband’s family. See the Toccoa Pearl.

On the way down, we decided to travel through Hickory, NC, and were able to see a colleague (my boss!) whom I had never met since my work is done online. That was exciting! She was just as nice, if not even more so, as she is via email, text, and Facebook message. 🙂

We were able to get here right around dinner time. We enjoyed a dinner, some run-around time for the little girls after being in the car all day, and then all were in bed by about 10 or so. It was a long day and we were SO tired!

When we awoke this morning we all enjoyed a leisurely breakfast, and coffee for us adults to help us wake up! After everyone was dressed we took a little hike and spent some time playing down near the river, tossing rocks in , etc. After lunch the babies took naps (still are napping, actually!) and I was able to do some work in the peaceful quiet. The boys did some light saber fighting outside, and now Hailey and Corbin are out throwing more rocks, I think. I just sent Logan out to get a visual of them….;) Karl even snuck in a nap!

I have a roast and potatoes in the oven, and we plan to enjoy dinner with all my nephews, their mama and daddy, and all the kids’ grandparents.

What are you planning for Thanksgiving week?

photo credit: Puzzler4879 (Mostly Off Family Medical Crisis) via photopin cc

About Wendy Woerner

wife, mama to five
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Field Trips, Homeschooling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Thanksgiving travels and fun

  1. In my continuing joy of having breakfast for dinner, I have to share this yummy recipe for peppers, onions and eggs. It is rustic and filling and has been very well-received here at my house. All you need to do is heat some olive oil in a big skillet and add 2 sliced and chopped red bell peppers and one chopped onion. Cook them until very tender. Add a 14 1/2 oz. can of diced tomatoes with the juice, 1 teaspoon smoked paprika, salt and pepper. Cover and simmer until the liquid has slightly thickened, about 5 minutes. Make 6 indentations with the back of a spoon and crack an egg into each. Cover and cook over medium heat for about 3 minute until whites are set. This will give you runny yolks, which was my desire. However, I was quite leery of uncooked, jiggly whites and ended up overcooking the eggs and the yolks were solid the first time I made this dish. Believe it or not, it was good anyway! This last time I made it, I got lucky and the eggs were perfect. I made homemade berry muffins and toasted up some bakery sourdough bread. Add some fresh fruit and you have a great dinner.

Talk to me!